Wigan trail 10k

I turned up today not really knowing what to expect from my first trail race and not having ran since Tuesday.  It was good to see all members of the club some marsheling and some running.  

A few of us went for a quick warm up round the estate while the fun run was going on on the course. We cheered on some of the fun runners and then made our way to the start. It was a narrow start and not much room to overtake. We were soon underway down narrow paths and I was stuck in the middle a little. My pace was a little fast as I was weaving in and out of people trying to keep my eye on the fellow Wigan harrier Infront of me. I settled down a bit as I found myself in open space and decent rhythm it was a great course and added bonus I knew all the marshals so they were all shouting and cheering me on. I started to struggle at mile 4 when a couple of runners passed me. I ran for about a mile with someone from presteich and managed to drop him after the water station there it was just a matter of the final run in I managed to push on a little in the last 400m before the final corner Infront of the rugby club.  Cheered on by the crowd the club and my dad who was taking photos. I finished 28th put of about 237 with a new pb time then into the club house for pie and peas. 

https://www.strava.com/activities/334682776

Leave a comment